Skip directly to content

06/02/12 Story

Chad Hinkle Wins Street Stock Main Event

Story by: Nancy Schmidt


Racing at South Sound Speedway Saturday June 2nd, had four classes of racing on hand, Top Notch Trailer Street Stocks, D&S Light Truck and Auto Mini Stocks, HiLine Home Legends, and Olympic Trailer & Truck Accessories Bump 2 Pass.


Street Stock Main event started with Shawn Jones on the Pole and Ryan Kerr on the outside. Jones takes the lead on lap one. Chad Hinkle takes the lead on lap fourteen. On lap twenty-six, the first caution of the Street Stock main event came out for debris on turn three. Race restarted with Hinkle still in the lead. Hinkle goes on to win the thirty lap Street Stock main event, followed by Richard Kerr, Dan Walker, Arnold Norton and Mike Kanavan to round out the top five.


Mini Stock Main event starts with Jim Belter on the pole and Shayne Huson on the outside. Huson takes the lead on lap one. On lap four, Freeman Pruitt takes the lead. On lap eight, turn two, Huson spins, Josh McMillan spins on front stretch, and Jeff Bracale, Huson and Josh McMillan go to the back of the pack. On lap eighteen, Scott Maynard scrapes the wall on the front stretch trying to advance his position. On lap nineteen, turn three and four, Tina McMillan’s car slows and she goes up the track, Renny Marose helps Tina McMillan to exit the track. On lap twenty, Devin Matthews takes the lead. On lap twenty-three, turn four, Kyle Matthews and Jon Baglien spin and are sent to the back of the pack. Tina McMillan returns to the track. On lap twenty-seven, Kyle Matthews spins out of the way of traffic. Marose goes to the middle on lap twenty-nine. On lap thirty-five going for the checkered flag, coming out of turn four, Kevin Conway tries to pass Devin Matthews and Scott Maynard to the inside, Matthews and Conway get into each other and go spinning down the front stretch with Conway pushing Matthews sideways across the finish line. Maynard crosses the finish line in first place, John Morse finishes second, Devin Matthews finishes in third, Conway finishes in fourth, and Pruitt finishes fifth.


Legend Main event starts with Brian Boyd on the pole with Parker Stephens on the outside. Stephens takes the lead on lap one. On lap three Rick McNeill takes the lead. Randy Schaaf takes the lead on lap twenty-four. McNeill is slow and exits the track on lap twenty-five and returns on lap twenty-seven. Schaaf goes on to win the thirty lap Legend Main event, followed by Duane Swanson, Jesse Branham, Stephens, and Randy Beddow to round out the top 5.


Bump 2 Pass Main event started half track with Jake Mills on the pole and Zach Floreck on the outside. Zach Floreck bumps Jake Mills. Grant Charneski bumps Mills, Mills bumps Charneski and Floreck comes across as the lead on lap one. On lap four Ron Schlund Sr. bumps Mills. On lap five, Mills bumps Schlund Sr., Schlund Sr. exits the track with his bumper hanging off. On lap twenty, coming to the checkered flag, Floreck goes wide, Mills bumps Floreck, and Charneski bumps Mills. Floreck and Mills go spinning. Charneski comes across in first place, followed by Floreck, Mills and Schlund Sr.